Invite a friend
Lighthouses of New Jersey
Do you know that there are 11 open lighthouses in New Jersey? Not to mention the ones that are closed or no longer.
These treasures are a sight to see! Bob Gleason from the New Jersey Lighthouse Society will give an armchair tour of these spectacular sites. He will provid...e background information and history on lighthouses in general and show you the important aspects of the New Jersey ones. Bob Gleason will also bring handouts and models to add to the experience. Come learn about New Jersey Lighthouses before the summer ends!
Bob Gleason is a member of the New Jersey Lighthouse Society and is the Chair of Educational Outreach and the Speakers Bureau. He has a B.A. in History and has worked many years with the New Jersey Lighthouse Society giving presentations throughout the region and helping to preserve the lighthouses.
Sign up is appreciated. Call 908-329-0325 to sign up.
$5 for non members.
Donations to the New Jersey Lighthouse Society for preservation purposes will be accepted.
|Where||Somerset County Historical Society 9 Van Veghten Dr, Bridgewater, NJ 08807|
|Next on||This event is over.|
|Time||2:00 pm–3:00 pm|
|Price||Free for members. $5 for non members|
More About Somerset County Historical Society
The Somerset County Historical Society's offices are in the historic Van Veghten House. The organization works to discover and preserve the history of Somerset County and offers a collection of published and unpublished historical and genealogical materials. It also assists those looking for historical information about the county. In addition, the society maintains its own library with a bound-book document collection that holds maps, periodicals, photographs, census records, newspapers and genealogies. To discover more about Somerset County, the historical society offers events and tours that provide additional information.
The house in which the Historical Society keeps its information was originally built by Somerset County resident Michael Van Veghten in 1720 on the north bank of the Raritan River. It was headquarters for Quartermaster Nathanael Greene between 1778 and 1779, when Michael Van Veghten's son offered the property for use by the Continental Army.